#273: Browns, George Street, Edinburgh

Browns, George Street, Edinburgh (exterior)

We nearly talked ourselves out of Browns because it’s more of a restaurant, but there is a bar and some tables that don’t seem that amenable to dining. It’s quite a pleasant, spacious interior with a classy appearance, some big plants, a brass-topped bar, dark wood and some old features like original cornices.

It was pretty busy, especially for a Tuesday night, but we managed to get a table. The patrons all seemed rather well-to-do, business and lawyer types. I felt out of place in my tshirt and jeans. I can’t remember if there was music playing, but the background chatter gave it a nice enough atmosphere.

Browns is a nationwide chain, owned by Mitchells & Butlers these days, so part of the same empire as Nicholson’s pubs, All Bar One, O’Neill’s, Toby Carvery etc.

The Bar

Browns, George Street, Edinburgh (interior, bar)

Keg only: Caley 80, Peroni, Estrella, Aspall, Korev Cornish lager, Amstel, Guinness, Pilsner Urquell. Bottles of Peroni, Innis & Gunn, etc, etc, yawn.

Around 30 cocktails between £6 and £8.

I’ve no record of the price of the round but bottled beers are between £4 and £6, so pints are likely similar or higher.

Food

There are bar snacks I beleive, though I didn’t write anything down. The restaurant food is all fairly pricey. For what it’s worth, I was last in here over 10 years ago for an impromptu office do. The lamb I had was fantastic, I can still picture it crumbling beneath my fork at the slightest touch, and it tasted great. Thankfully I wasn’t paying though, it was something like £20.

Amenities

Pub quiz on a Wednesday night at… no, I’m joking.

Castle View

Nope.

Links

Web page: www.browns-restaurants.co.uk/locations/edinburgh
Parent: Mitchells & Butlers

Leave a Reply

