#96: Jake’s Place, Market Street, Edinburgh

Jake's Place, Market Street, Edinburgh (exterior)

Jake’s Place is an American/Scottish theme bar with a huge array of imported bottled beers and some U.S. imports on tap that you’re unlikely to get elsewhere.

Their website describes them as a “rustic bar and kitchen”, but I disagree. It’s slightly rusty in places (deliberately so), but it still feels quite slick. It reminded me of some bars in Canada, so at least they nailed the North American part. With its proximity to a hostel upstairs, I expected it to be a bit more down to earth, but in fact he beer’s surprisingly expensive, and they only sell schooners (2/3 pints, so hot right now). I don’t mean to sound negative there, I genuinely liked the place. Their focus on quality beers and good food is very welcome.

It wasn’t very busy, just a handful of office types and a couple of beer geeks in to sample the imports. I think the latter may have been regulars as one of the staff (the manager I presume) was showing them all the new additions to the fridge. The usual caveat applies here regarding quietness: this was a Tuesday night visit.

It’s part of the Beds & Bars group which runs the neighbouring Belushi’s bar and the St Christopher’s Inn upstairs.

The Bar

Jake's Place, Market Street, Edinburgh (interior, bar)

There are 8 taps, of which 5 were on, but I’m not sure which were cask and which were keg. I’d be surprised if some of these U.S. imports were cask, yet I’m sure the barman told me only 1 keg was on, the rest were cask. The old school rolling blackboard had the following listed: Dominion Dortmunder Lager, Alechemy Bad Day At The Office, Fordham Ramshead IPA, Dominion Double D IPA and Oak Barrel Stout. I couldn’t read the taps themselves, it was a bit dark and I didn’t have my specs on.

The huge list of 71 bottled and canned beers was impressive, a mixture of U.S. imports as well as more familiar Scottish fayre. From the U.S.: Odell, Fordham, Dominion, Sierra Nevada, Brooklyn, Goose Island, Flying Dog, Anchor, Ommegang, Stone, Slyfox, Huber, Chatoe Rouge. And the Scottish ones: Cairngorm, Eden, Kelburn, Brewmeister, Top Out, Black Isle, Brew Dog, Stewart’s, Barney’s, Fyne Ales, Tempest, Harviestoun, Williams, Colonsay, Elixir, Inveralmond, Isle of Skye.

There’s also a selection of whisky, bourbon and rye.

I think it was £3.50 for a schooner of Alechemy so scaling up for comparison it’s £5.25 a pint! That’s local beer! It might be a new record, the most expensive beer on the tour so far. Wow. I didn’t realise that until now.

Food

Burger at Jake's Place, Edinburgh

The burgers were pretty good, but I can’t remember how much they were, though I’m sure they were under £10. At first I thought they looked a bit small, but they were tall, and I was quite full by the time I finished.

Amenities

It’s a bit strange being in a pricey, stylish bar, but having to go up the stairs through the hostel to get to the toilets. Not that there’s anything wrong with the toilets, it’s just a bit of a surprise.

Castle View

Nope. Probably yes, looking at street view.

Links

Website: www.jakes-place.co.uk
Twitter: @JakesPlaceEdin
Facebook: Jakes Place
Parent: Beds & Bars

One response to “#96: Jake’s Place, Market Street, Edinburgh

Leave a Reply

