#17: The Grosvenor, Shandwick Place, Edinburgh

The Grosvenor, Shandwick Place, Edinburgh (exterior)

This is one of the reasons I’m doing this tour, to challenge my prejudices about some pubs. Somehow or other, I’ve always thought this place was rubbish, and I don’t know why. For that reason I’ve not been in for years, it’s been completely off the radar. As of this visit though, I’ve been proven wrong again. It turns out I like it after all. Decent beers, nice looking bar and friendly staff. My only complaints are that it’s a bit dark, and the wallpaper’s to frilly for my liking.

It’s part of the “Taylor Walker” brand, an arm of the Spirit Pub Company. The fact that Spirit was formed from a “demerger” from Punch Taverns in 2011 could explain my old dislike for the place, maybe. Anyway, Taylor Walker has a handful of pubs in Edinburgh, all of which will be on this tour by the looks of it. Stable mates are The Beehive, Doctors, The Malt Shovel, and Milnes Bar.

Beer

There are 4 cask lines, and tonight’s selection was fine, but hardly adventurous: Caledonian Deuchars, Harviestoun Schiehallion, Harviestoun Bitter & Twisted, and Marston’s Pedigree. On keg there was Guinness, Kronenbourg 1664, Carling and a few others that escape me.

Dang it! I seem to have forgotten to write down the price. I don’t remember it being particularly expensive or cheap.

Food

They do a full menu, and it looks like relatively cheap and cheerful pub classics mostly. All in the £5 to £10 range, mostly the lower end of that scale.

Castle View

Nope.

The Grosvenor, Shandwick Place, Edinburgh (bar)

Leave a Reply

